Cloning dDrives

When you clone a dDrive, you're creating a copy which is ultimately attached to its parent drive. Cloning is useful during development flows, considering it creates a clone which tracks back to its origin. You can easily compare and merge with the original dDrive.

You may want to clone a dDrive when you want to:

  1. Remix someone else's work, or
  2. Work a dDrive without publishing the changes immediately, or
  3. Work on a dDrive with other people.

Creating Clones

To clone a dDrive, click on the Site Info button on the left side of the address bar. Then click Tools and then Clone dDrive.

You will be prompted to choose a label for the clone. The label is used privately to help you differntiate from the original and other clones. Choose a label and then click Create clone to finalize the process.

note

You can make an independent copy of a dDrive (not attached to its parent) by simply going to the Copy tab.

Managing Clones

When visiting a clone, you will see the clone label in the Site Info button of the address bar. To view all clones of a site, click on the Site Info button and click on the Clones submenu.

From the Site Info panel, you can see a list of available clones. You can navigate between them and the original, delete them, and create new clones.

You can view the forks of a dDrive in My dDrives by clicking on the fork number in the listing.